Saturday, April 20, 2013

Early Voting Begins In Jefferson Parish

Early voting begins this morning in Jefferson Parish.

The entire parish, along with Orleans and Plaquemines parishes, will begin the revoting process on the Crescent City Connection toll extension. The November 6th vote was tossed out by a judge after toll opponents disclosed that over 1,000 voters were given provisional ballots that did not contain the CCC toll proposal.

In addition to the CCC toll, there are also several tax renewals including extending current 5 mills each for Water and Sewerage for 10 years and 7 mills for the School Board.

In Harahan, River Ridge, and parts of Metairie and Kenner, there is a runoff for the 24th JDC, Division D seat between Scott Schlegel and Hilary Landry. Schlegel led the 4 person primary capturing 36% of the vote while Landry received 27.5%.

Voters in Westwego will vote on a new Mayor and a District 4 councilman.

In the Mayoral runoff, Johnny Shaddinger faces off against Ted Munch. In the primary, Shaddinger received 46.9% of the vote while Munch received 36.5%. Both are Democrats.

In District 4, voters will choose between Republican Gary Toups and Democrat Melvin Guidry. Toups received 37.8% of the primary vote while Guidry received 35.7% of the vote. In real numbers, Toups received 9 more votes than Guidry.

There is also a 20 mills renewal for Fire Protection District 5.

There will be no early voting tomorrow (Sunday). Early voting will resume on Monday and last through next Saturday. Early voting hours are 8:30am - 6pm. East Bank early voters can vote at the Yenni Building in Elmwood or at the Kenner Registrar of Voters office, 408 Minor Street in Rivertown. On the West Bank of Jefferson Parish, early voting is at 5001 Westbank Expressway, Suite C-2 in Marrero.